top of page

Biographie

D La Her est une artiste sud-coréenne basée à Paris. Ses peintures figuratives et oniriques explorent le conditionnement et l’évolution des identités individuelles au contact des normes sociétales. Elle a commencé ses séries de peinture en 2022. Sa pratique s'inspire ouvertement du post-impressionnisme, du réalisme américain, du cinéma, ainsi que de l'esthétique relationnelle.

 

Les personnages dépourvus de corps et de visage qui habitent ses tableaux sondent la complexité du moi dans un environnement culturel et social exigeant un certain conformisme dans la conscience collective. Le concept de vide dans la philosophie est-asiatique se retrouve dans ces corps et visages vacants et contraste avec un environnement dense et détaillé.

 

Les sujets se détachent de leur cadre et brouillent les frontières entre le moi intérieur et le moi extérieur. Si un miroir reflète le moi extérieur, seul un miroir sans fond appréhende le moi intérieur. Elle questionne par ailleurs la pertinence sociale en explorant l’interdépendance entre la plénitude et le vide, l'individu et le collectif, ainsi que le jour et la nuit.

 

IMG_4102.JPG

Les lumières et couleurs artificielles de ses œuvres sont influencées par ses études en cinéma. Ces dernières façonnent des nuances de solitude festive à l'ombre de la nuit. Son geste pictural minutieux sur une grande toile offre une lecture différente selon la distance d'observation. À mesure que les spectateurs s'approchent, les visages vides les invitent à plonger dans le néant. Ces visages s'adressent à tous sans distinction, quelle que soit l'origine, la couleur ou le genre. C’est un champ vide de réflexion, de rencontre avec autrui et soi-même… Jusqu’à saisir, enfin, sa propre présence.

 

Résidencies
 

2024

2023

59 Rivoli

Tangent Projects Studios

Paris, FR

Barcelone, ES

Expositions Solo
 

2025

MINT Gallery Atlanta

Atlanta, GA, US

Expositions Collectives | Foires
 

2025

2024

2023

Multiculturalism and BelongingCICA Museum

Multiculturalism and Belonging, California State University’s Dutton Gallery

Abnormal Connection, La Maison Bruneau

Sprung, Ideal Glass Studios

Work in Progress, Exposition en duo, Tangent Projects

Women in Art Fair, Mall Galleries

ReA! Art Fair, Fabbrica del Vapore

Barcelone, ES

Londres, UK

Milan, IT

New York, NY, US

Paris, FR

San Bernardino, CA, US

Gimpo, KR

Performances
 

2024

La Nuit Blanche, 59 Rivoli

Portrait Sonore, Maison Bruneau

Portrait Sonore, Nocturne, 59 Rivoli

Paris, FR

Paris, FR

Paris, FR

Prix | Bourses
 

2024

Jackson's Art Prize

Sélectionnée pour le prix

Homiens Art Prize

Sélectionnée pour le prix

London, UK

New York, NY, US

Publications | Articles
 

2025

2023

Berlin, DE

Milan, IT

Londres, UK

Gimpo, KR

Education
 

2021

2019

2016

2015

2010

MBA en Marché International de l’Art, ICART Paris

MSc en Gestion de Projets Culturels, Rennes School of Business & École Européenne Supérieure d'Art de Bretagne

Programme d’échange universitaire, Nazareth College

DNAP, École Européenne Supérieure d'Art de Bretagne

Diploma in Cinema, Korea Animation High School

Paris, FR

Rennes, FR

Rochester, NY, US

Rennes, FR

Hanam, KR

bottom of page

top of page

Biography

D La Her is a Paris-based South Korean artist. Her realistic yet dreamlike paintings explore the conditioning and evolution of individual identities in contact with societal norms. She started her painting series in 2022. Her practice is openly inspired by post-impressionism, American realism, cinema, as well as relational aesthetics.

 

The bodiless and faceless figures in her works delve into the complexity of the self within a cultural and social landscape that demands a certain conformity within the collective consciousness. The concept of void in East Asian philosophy is reflected in these empty bodies and faces contrasting with highly detailed and dense surroundings.

 

The subjects detach from their environment and blur the boundaries between the inner self and the outer self. If a mirror reflects the outer self, yet only a bottomless mirror reflects the inner self. She further questions social relevance by delving into the interdependence between fullness and void, the individual and the collective, as well as daytime and nighttime.

IMG_4102.JPG

The lights and artificial colors of her paintings are influenced by her studies in cinema. These latter ones shape colors of festive solitude in the shadow of night. Her meticulous brushstroke on a large canvas gives the spectator a different reading of her work depending on the viewing distance. As viewers get closer, blank faces invite them into the emptiness. Those faces are addressed to everyone, regardless of origin, color, or gender. It is an empty field for reflection, of encounter with others and oneself... to finally fully grasp one's presence.

 

Residencies
 

2024

2023

59 Rivoli

Tangent Projects Studios

Paris, FR

Barcelona, ES

Solo Exhibitions
 

2025

MINT Gallery Atlanta

Atlanta, GA, US

Group Exhibitions | Art Fairs
 

2025

2024

2023

Multiculturalism and Belonging, CICA Museum

Multiculturalism and BelongingCalifornia State University’s Dutton Gallery

Abnormal Connection, La Maison Bruneau

Sprung, Ideal Glass Studios

Work in Progress, Two-person exhibition, Tangent Projects

Women in Art Fair, Mall Galleries

ReA! Art Fair, Fabbrica del Vapore

Barcelona, ES

London, UK

Milan, IT

New York, NY, US

Paris, FR

San Bernardino, CA, US

Gimpo, KR

Performances
 

2024

Allégorie des ombres, La Nuit Blanche, 59 Rivoli

Allégorie des ombres, La Maison Bruneau

Portrait Sonore, Nocturne, 59 Rivoli

Paris, FR

Paris, FR

Paris, FR

Prizes | Grants
 

2024

Jackson's Art Prize

Selected for the prize

Homiens Art Prize

Selected for the prize

London, UK

New York, NY, US

Publications | Articles
 

2025

2023

Berlin, DE

Milan, IT

London, UK

Gimpo, KR

Education
 

2021

2019

2016

2015

2010

MBA International Art Market, ICART Paris

MSc in Cultural Project Management, Rennes School of Business & École Européenne Supérieure d'Art de Bretagne 

Art Exchange Program, Nazareth College

BFA, École Européenne Supérieure d'Art de Bretagne

Diploma in Cinema, Korea Animation High School

Paris, FR

Rennes, FR

Rochester, NY, US

Rennes, FR

Hanam, KR

bottom of page